## MINUTES COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE

Tuesday, October 26, 2021 – 4:00 p.m.
Spaulding Township Hall
5825 Cole Rd., Saginaw, MI 48601

**Present**: Sheldon Matthews - Committee Chair, Christopher Boyd, Carol Ewing, Dennis Krafft, Gerald Little,

Carl Ruth, Jack Tany, Michael Webster, Cynthia Winiecke

**Absent**: Kyle Harris, James Theisen

Others: Robert Belleman, Dave Gilbert, Suzy Koepplinger, Vanessa Guerra, Jessica Sargent, Ray Ogden,

Brian Keenan-Lechel, Craig Schneider, Dan Manning, Ron Rachwitz, Jamie Hamilton, David Sernick, Krystal Irvine, Norm Bamberger, Torrie Lee, Greg Hayes, Jimmie Bentley, Charles Parks, Ray Jones, Tarsha Works, Michael Pratt, Jen Carpenter, Steve Meyer, Cathy Baase, Jerry Preston,

Pamela Moore, Lynda Thayer, Tyler Sutherlund, John Corriveau, and Russ Taylor

- I. Call to order---Matthews at 4:00pm
- II. Welcome / Roll-Call
- III. Public comment---None
- IV. Agenda
  - 1. Recap of August 31, 2021 Committee of the Whole and overview of this meeting Robert Belleman, Controller/CAO
  - 2. Internal Requests
    - A. Health Department Christina Harrington, Health Officer
      - ---Information was presented by the Health Officer
  - 3. External Requests
    - A. Connect Michigan Dan Manning, Community Technology Advisor
      - ---Mr. Manning presented to the committee Connect Michigan's request for ARPA funding and engaged in discussion with committee members.
    - B. Bridgeport Charter Township Adrianna Jordan, Township Manager Ron Rachwitz
      - ---Mr. Rachwitz presented to the committee Bridgeport Charter Township's request for ARPA funding and engaged in discussion with committee members.
    - C. James Township Edward Hak, Supervisor
      - ---Mr. Hak was not in attendance and plans to attend a future Committee of the Whole meeting to present the ARPA funding request.
    - D. Birch Run Convention & Visitors Bureau Jerry Preston, President
      - --- Mr. Preston presented to the committee Birch Run CVB's request for ARPA funding and engaged in discussion with committee members.
    - E. YMCA of Saginaw Steve Meyer, President/CEO
      - ---Mr. Meyer presented to the committee YMCA of Saginaw's request for ARPA funding and engaged in discussion with committee members.
    - F. Bitwise Industries Erin Hustings & Irma Olguin (Moved to Nov. 9th CoW)

- G. Boys & Girls Club of the Great Lakes Bay Region Jen Carpenter, Chief Executive Officer ---Mrs. Carpenter presented to the committee the Boys & Girls Club of the Great Lakes Bay Region's request for ARPA funding and engaged in discussion with committee members.
- H. Buena Vista Charter Township Torrie Lee, Superintendent
  - ---Mrs. Lee presented to the committee Buena Vista Charter Township's request for ARPA funding and engaged in discussion with committee members.
- I. Thomas Township Russ Taylor, Township Manager
  - ---Mr. Taylor presented to the committee Thomas Township's request for ARPA funding and engaged in discussion with committee members.
- 4. Consulting Services Guidehouse
  - ---Representatives presented to the committee the range of services their firm provides and how they could assist in the allocation of ARPA funding. Discussion was held with members of the committee and the Controller was asked to check references.
- 5. Board of Commissioners Discussion
  - A. Are we ready to engage a consultant? What services?
    - ---Motion to refer the conversation regarding consultant to the November 9, 2021 Committee of the Whole meeting. Motion made by Ruth, seconded by Boyd. Motion carried.
  - B. Do we want to establish a deadline for receipt of proposals?
    - ---The last date that ARPA funding proposals will be accepted is January 25, 2022.
  - C. Next Committee of the Whole meeting dates/times
    - ---The next Committee of the Whole meeting dates and locations are November 9<sup>th</sup> in Frankenmuth, December 13<sup>th</sup> at the YMCA in Saginaw, and January 25<sup>th</sup> in Buena Vista.
  - D. Other
- V. Motions to Refer---See above
- VI. Miscellaneous---None
- VII. Adjournment---Moved by Ruth, seconded by Ewing, to adjourn. Motion carried; time being 7:08 pm.

Respectfully Submitted, Sheldon Matthews, Committee Chair Vanessa Guerra, County Clerk Suzy Koepplinger, Committee Clerk

Note: Upon completion of discussion, only motions to refer to an organized committee or to postpone indefinitely shall be allowed - Article IX, Section 9.5, and 2021 Board Rules.