MINUTES COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE

DRAFT

<u>Tuesday, August 29, 2023 – 5:00 p.m.</u>

111 S. Michigan Ave., Room 200, Saginaw MI 48602

- Present:Jack Tany Committee Chair, Christopher Boyd, Lisa Coney, Denny Harris, Dennis Krafft,
Gerald Little, Sheldon Matthews, Mark Piotrowski, Tracey Slodowski, Rich Spitzer,
Michael Webster
- Others: Koren Thurston, Dave Gilbert, L. William Smith, Vanessa Guerra, Kyle Bostwick, Brian Keenan-Lechel, Isaac Blackmon, Kelly Suppes, Jaime Ceja, Darcie Graham, Al Warr, Nick Seehafer, Carrie Davis, Peter Shaheen, Craig Goslin, Steve St. John, Jake Golden, Debra Smith, Susan Arceo, Amado Arceo, Catherine Hicks, Marissa Sawdon and Suzy Koepplinger
- I. Call to order ---Tany at 5:00 p.m.
- II. Welcome
- III. Public comment (Speakers limited to 3 minutes) --- None
- IV. Agenda
 - Craig Goslin, Chair of the OHL Board of Governors and President/Managing Partner of the Saginaw Spirit, to provide an update on the 2024 Memorial Cup
 ---Moved by Webster, seconded by Boyd, to refer discussion to Executive Committee. Motion carried. (Presentation on file in the Board Office)
 - Peter Shaheen and Nick Seehafer, Shaheen Development, to present a proposal to move county administrative offices to the Concentric Building
 Commissioner Krafft expressed he is not in favor of this plan and would like to see if instead an addition to the current building is a viable option. He also asked if it would be cost-effective to rent the Concentric building while doing renovations to the courthouse building.
 ---Moved by Coney, seconded by Harris, to refer discussion to Executive Committee. Motion carried. (Presentation on file in the Board Office)
 - 3. Other Issues of Interest/Concern Board of Commissioners
- V. Miscellaneous
 - Commissioner Boyd informed the committee that the state will be awarding close to \$1 Million to the Prosecuting Attorney for backlog reduction.
 - Commissioner Spitzer distributed a spreadsheet detailing potential budget adjustments to discuss at the next Budget/Audit Committee meeting.
 - Commissioner Tany thanked Treasurer Novak and Commissioner Webster for attending the ribbon-cutting ceremony for the Iron Belle Trailhead in Carrollton Township and dedication in honor of Craig Oatten.
- Note: Upon completion of discussion, only motions to refer to an organized committee or to postpone indefinitely shall be allowed Article IX, Section 9.5, 2023 Board Rules.

8-30-23/MCS/SEK

- Commissioner Boyd, along with Commissioners Tany and Slodowski, attended the ribbon-cutting ceremony for the Thomas Township Nature Preserve, of which ARPA funds were utilized.
- Commissioner Krafft invited the committee to the HWB Airport "Business After Hours" event on October 19, 2023 from 5:00 – 7:00 p.m.

VI. Adjournment ---*Moved by Krafft, seconded by Little, to adjourn. Motion carried, time being* 7:04 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted, Jack Tany, Committee Chair Suzy Koepplinger, Committee Clerk

Note: Upon completion of discussion, only motions to refer to an organized committee or to postpone indefinitely shall be allowed - Article IX, Section 9.5, 2023 Board Rules.

8-30-23/MCS/SEK